Mike Kueber's Blog

August 22, 2011

The nutritional value of rum

Filed under: Entertainment,Fitness — Mike Kueber @ 8:43 pm
Tags: ,

Last week, when sitting around with a friend and having a couple of drinks (rum & carbonated water), we started discussing the nutritional value of the drink that we were drinking.  My friend said that he knew there were about 100 calories and no carbs or fat in rum, and I added that all calories had to have carbs, fat, or protein, so then rum must have protein.  He doubted that, too, and I was just about to bet the family farm when I remembered that I had already sold that to a brother.  Instead of betting the family farm, I made a gentlemen’s bet before we goggled an answer.

Lucky for me I didn’t bet the farm.  According to the internet:

  • Calories provide energy for our bodies to function.  We get calories from carbs, protein, fat, and alcohol.  For each gram, you get a set number of calories.
1 gram Calories
Carbohydrates 4
Protein 4
Fat 9
Alcohol 7
  • Unlike macronutrients such as carbs, proteins, and fats, alcohol supplies what nutritionists often refer to as empty calories.  To make matters worse, it is the first fuel used when combined with carbs, fats, and proteins, postponing the fat-burning process and contributing to greater fat storage.
So, don’t expect anything nutritious to come from rum & water.  And be conservative about what you know you know.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment