Mike Kueber's Blog

February 16, 2012

Dealing with celebrities

Filed under: Culture,Fitness,Media,Sports — Mike Kueber @ 6:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

America has become obsessed with celebrity, and this obsession has resulted in a media that focuses more on hounding celebrities than on developing thoughtful communication. 

Ordinary people who try to avoid this culture of celebrity sometimes are placed in an awkward position when they encounter a celebrity.  The awkwardness comes from not wanting to be too hot or too cold.  Celebrities are entitled to their privacy, but their privacy does not take priority over the rest of us doing our thing.  For example:

  • Give them their privacy.  I often see NBA All-Star Michael Finley at Lifetime Fitness, and he is apparently keeping his game sharp in the event an NBA team needs him.  If you look at my Facebook page, you will see that I have a photo album of my “glory days – high school basketball.”  Because I played in the relative obscurity of North Dakota, you might think that I would want to challenge Finley to a game of one-on-one, and you would be right.  But that would not be the right thing to do.  Even if I beat him, what would that prove?  And it wouldn’t be fair to Finley to spend his time letting every Tom, Dick, and Harry compare their games to his.
  • Celebrities need to get in line with the rest of us.  Today at Lifetime Fitness I was doing some work on one of their four flat bench presses, starting at 135 lbs.  (That’s also the weight I finish at.)  After doing one set, I moved away for a few minutes to do some bicep curls.  While I was gone, NBA David Robinson and another guy (looked like a player, too) started using my bench and my weights (135 lbs.)  I gave them a few minutes, but when they started on their second set, I decided to move in.  David may be the Admiral, but that was my bench.  I walked right up to David and said I was using that bench, and furthermore I thought that 135 lbs. was a little too light for them.  He said he was sorry (everyone knows David is one of the nicest guys in the world), and I said don’t worry about it because I will use one of the other benches.

        It’s all about balance and perspective.

1 Comment »

  1. you left out a key aspect. the economic advantage the business owners “perceive” and how they create the “special” treatment. i was at the texas open as a volunteer. my job was transporting (via golf cart) score cards up and down a really big hill from the ninth hole to the scoring table. it was over 90 degress and this hill was BIG. i was giving rides to some older folks if they looked like they were gonna die. i was told to stop doing that – no discussion permitted. then here come 3 Spurs. they each had a golf cart. they each got in free. millionaires, in their 20’s, in NBA shape get free entry and a free golf cart. old poor people have to pay and crawl up the freaking hill. crap. ooooooooooouuuuhhhhh the spurs draw more crowds…… crap!

    q

    Comment by Q — February 18, 2012 @ 12:57 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

