Mike Kueber's Blog

July 26, 2012

Original aphorisms and Dilbert

Filed under: Aphorism — Mike Kueber @ 5:56 pm

I recently blogged about the aphorism, “He may be wrong, but he’s never in doubt.”    Because this expression is not commonly used, I wondered if I originated it.  A brief trip on Google today disabused me of that notion.  Google continually proves that there are few original thoughts or questions.  Imagine my surprise at Google directing me to other bloggers who wondered the same thing – i.e., had they originated the expression?  Google also referred me a song title (“Frequently wrong, never in doubt”) and a book title (“Often wrong, never in doubt”) that used the expression, but in a more artful manner.

More artful phrasing is what reminded me of my aphorism earlier today.  “Dilbert” is one of two comic strips that I read daily (the other is “Mallard Fillmore”), and today’s strip included a variation of the aphorism:

  • Boss: Tina, our database analyst quit, so I need you to take over that job.
  • Tina:  I’m curious…  How long do you think it takes to train a tech writer to be a database analyst?
  • Boss:  Forty-five minutes.
  • Tina:  I like how you punctuate ignorance with certainty.

I love great writing like that.  I also love Scott Adams’s Dilbert comic strips, and, before that, his books in the late 90s, of which I still have three in my library.  He has fascinating insights into, and pokes fun at, many dysfunctional aspects of modern corporate life.  

Getting back to original aphorisms, I still have a few, including:

  • The unexamined life is not worth living, but fun is important, too.
  • That guy would give you the shirt off his back, as long as his wife says OK.
  • She gives good briefing.
1 Comment »

  1. I like:
    – He who has given satisfaction to the best of his time has lived for ages.
    – Success is like a lovely woman, wooed by many men, but folded in the arms of him alone who, free from over-zeal, firmly persists and calmly perseveres.
    – It is not enough to know; we must apply what we know. It is not enough to will; we must also act.
    – Keep thy heart afar from sorrow, and be not anxious about the trouble which is not yet come.
    – It is difficult to understand men, but still harder to know them thoroughly.

    source: http://aphorism4you.com/topic-wise-saying.html

    Comment by aphorism — November 10, 2012 @ 1:31 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

