Mike Kueber's Blog

January 12, 2013

Saturday Night at the Movies #60 – Hope Springs

Filed under: Movie reviews — Mike Kueber @ 4:39 am
Tags: , ,

A few days ago, I saw The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2012) and loved it.  In my blog I noted that it was one of those rare movies directed at my demographic – i.e., retirees wondering how to best transition to their golden years.  Well, perhaps my demographic has more clout than I realized because I just saw another new movie that targets old geezers, and it was great. 

Hope Springs (2012) stars one of my favorite actors – Tommy Lee Jones – acting much like Woodrow Call of Lonesome Dove and one of my least favorite actresses – Meryl Streep – acting like the great actress she is.  Suffice to say that Jones and Streep have a boring 31-year marriage, and she takes them to a Maine-based marriage counselor played by Steve Carell. 

Jones’s droll personality had me laughing out-loud throughout the movie.  The Rotten Tomatoes critics scored it at 74%, while the audience scored it only 59%.  I agree with the critics and give it three and a half stars.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

