Mike Kueber's Blog

March 6, 2014

Organ donation

Filed under: Medical — Mike Kueber @ 1:23 am
Tags:

Last night during my friend’s weekly Boys Night Out party, the wide-ranging conversation drifted onto organ donation.  I mentioned to the boys a recent article in the Express-News about “nondirected” kidney donation whereby one anonymous donor could start of chain of 10-15 donations that would not otherwise occur.  I also told the boys that when I blogged about this subject I couldn’t think of a solid reason why I shouldn’t volunteer to be a donor.  After a few minutes of hemming and hawing, they couldn’t think of a good reason either.  But they still weren’t going to volunteer.

insurance payment of $10,000 that could be applied toward burial and other expenses.  This program would encourage people to donate without crossing the line into organ selling.

When I find out who is elected my state rep later this year, I plan to discuss this idea with him, provided I survive my kidney donation.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

