Mike Kueber's Blog

March 27, 2014

Retirement

Filed under: Retirement — Mike Kueber @ 8:07 pm
Tags:

As I posted on my Facebook wall this morning, “Today marks five years of retirement bliss for me. They say that people rarely regret retiring too soon, and you can add my voice to that chorus.”

A similar sentiment was expressed by NY Times columnist David Brooks a couple of years ago based on his reading a few short autobiographies written by some people for their 50-year college reunion:

  • The most common lament in this collection is from people who worked at the same company all their lives and now realize how boring they must seem. These people passively let their lives happen to them. One man described his long, uneventful career at an insurance company and concluded, ‘Wish my self-profile was more exciting, but it’s a little late now.’”

Fortunately, I was not career obsessed after the age of 40. In fact, I remember discussing with another career lawyer the relative insignificance of getting that more promotion that might result in another $20,000 of income. I argued that the additional money might enable my family to a have little bit bigger house or a little bit nicer car, but in the grand scheme of things that was not important.

His comeback, however, was a good one. He said I could sock the money away and retire earlier. That made sense then, and it makes even more sense now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

