Mike Kueber's Blog

October 12, 2014

Walden Shelton – Bexar County judge

Filed under: Issues,People,Politics — Mike Kueber @ 12:50 am
Tags:

I met Walden Shelton several years ago on the campaign hustings. Although I was running for the high office of congressman and he was running merely for a local judgeship, he was obviously a much more seasoned, traditional politician who freely gave me advice on the campaign importance of meet-and-greets and yard signs. By contrast, I was relying on brochures and block-walking.

Walden seemed like a genuinely nice guy, and I don’t know if he won that election, but he is currently running for re-election and recently posted the following on his Facebook page:

  • I attend anywhere from 2 to 4 events a night campaigning, to meet as many potential voters as possible. That’s my job as a candidate. I may not agree 100% with all of the views of the folks that I meet, nor do I expect anyone to agree with me 100% of the time–we are different in our own way. I talk to folks about my experience; how I treat everyone with dignity and respect no matter what their background; that I have been a leader in DWI cases; that I have saved taxpayers over $100k per year in operating expenses; reduced the backlog by over 550 cases; and that I follow the law and continue to do so. This is why I have been endorsed by the San Antonio Express-News, San Antonio Police Officers Association, Bexar County Adult Probations Officers Association, San Antonio Professional Firefighters Association, Defense Council of San Antonio, and others. Early voting starts October 20, with the general election on Nov.4. I respectively request your vote. If you would like to volunteer to work the polls, please let me know.

Walden’s claim to 2 to 4 events a night is stupefying. When I ran for City Council in 2012, there were about 15-20 candidate forums over the course of the entire campaign, and I thought that was an impressive number. Going to multiple events every night would be incredibly draining. And for what purpose?

According to the title of Rick Casey’s column in the SA Express-News today, “Judicial elections are a lottery.”  Casey points out that, because Bexar County has 47 judicial elections on its ballot, its voters are wholly unable to make intelligent selections and instead make their decisions based on party affiliation. Some years a team of Republicans sweep into office and other years the Democrats do, but rarely is there any ticket splitting.

So my question is – why the hell is Walden working so hard?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

