Mike Kueber's Blog

October 18, 2014

Kahlil Gibran

Filed under: Book reviews,Philosophy — Mike Kueber @ 1:28 am
Tags:

A couple of years ago, I blogged about 16 insights from Kahlil Gibran’s book, The Prophet.  A couple of days ago, a Facebook friend posted a poster from EarthWeAreOne.com with “25 Lessons from Khalil Gibran.”  (New spelling, same guy.)

Because I was pretty sure that I had distilled the essence of Gibran in my blog posting, I was interested in reading what someone else thought.  And I was pleasantly surprised to read that many of the key insights that I had gleaned from The Prophet (love, marriage, kids, prayer) found their way onto the poster from Earth We Are One.  I was a bit disappointed, however, that the poster didn’t have anything on my favorite insight:

  • Friendship:  “When you part from your friend, you grieve not;  For that which you love most in him may be clearer in his absence, as the mountain to the climber is clearer from the plain.  And let there be no purpose in friendship save the deepening of the spirit.  For love that seeks aught but the disclosure of its mystery is not love but a net cast forth; and only the unprofitable is caught.”  The essence of Gibran’s philosophy.

My earlier posting on The Prophet concluded with the following paragraph:

  • My ex-girlfriend who gave me The Prophet was especially moved by one of its 26 poetic essays.  Unfortunately, I failed to mark that essay, and despite reading twice this slim volume (96 pages), I have been unable identify the essay.  (I’m leaning toward the essay on Friendship.)  Maybe someday I will have an epiphany.

Well, I’ve had a quasi-epiphany, and I’m confident that Friendship was my ex-girlfriend’s farewell gift.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

