Mike Kueber's Blog

November 1, 2014

I love my flaws?

Filed under: Facebook,Relationships — Mike Kueber @ 12:26 am
Tags:

A friend/yoga-instructor posted on her Facebook wall a poster that said the following:

  • Hey you. Yes you. Stop being unhappy with yourself. You are perfect. Stop wishing you looked like someone else or wishing people liked you as much as they like someone else. Stop trying to get attention from those who hurt you. Stop hating your body, your face, your personality, your quirks. Love them. Without those things, you wouldn’t be you & why would you want to be anyone else? Be confident with who you are, smile, it’ll draw people in. If anyone haters on you because you are happy with yourself, stick your middle finger in the air and say my happiness will not depend on others anymore. I’m happy because I love who I am, I love my flaws, I love my imperfections, they make me, me. & ‘me’ is pretty amazing.

I commented as follows;

  • I heard you recite this passage at practice this morning, and I was struck by the closing – “I love my flaws.” Definition of flaw – a defect or fault that mars something. Not so sure about loving my flaws. The Serenity Prayer tells us to accept the things we cannot change, but the courage to change the things we can.

I didn’t mention to my yogi that a few weeks ago I had a serious discussion on this very subject with one of her yoga students. The student told me that she has had a problem for years with guys who were unable to deal with her emotional meltdowns. When I suggested to her that she should try to avoid those meltdowns (a la Men Are From Mars), she responded that those meltdowns were an inherent part of who she was and that the guys needed to learn to accept that (Women Are From Venus).

I reminded her that two of her favorite mantras were:

  • I am what I am; and
  • I am a work in progress.

This is apparently a conflict, but I should have pointed out to her that the Serenity Prayer provides a way to manage the conflict – i.e., use your wisdom to know what you can change and what you cannot.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

