Mike Kueber's Blog

December 12, 2014

Oprah shares some wisdom

Filed under: Facebook,Philosophy — Mike Kueber @ 3:15 am
Tags:

I participated in two yoga practices this morning, and both yogis were preaching from the same book – The Book of Oprah. There is a short clip currently circulating on Facebook showing Oprah giving some guidance on life, and her message resonated so much with my two yogis that they wanted to share it with their classes. Oprah’s two big points:

  1. Every older person, when asked what advice they would give to their younger self, says in one form or another they would tell them to “relax, relax, it’s going to be OK.” Do older people really know this? I have given this same advice to my kids, but I thought I was being especially wise. Seems elderly wisdom is more widespread that I thought.
  2. What is the next right move? Instead of obsessing over past decisions that may have turned out badly, a person needs to accept what has already happened (it can’t be changed), and focus on what you have the ability to decide in the future.

 

After discussing the clip with one of my yogis, she suggested that I watch the entire interview on YouTube – “Oprah Winfrey on Career, Life, and Leadership at Stanford University.”

Although the interview is lengthy, I decided the nuggets above justified an extended viewing (plus, I’m retired so it’s not like this would interfere with more important things in my life). After watching the full interview, I gave the following feedback to my yogi:

  • You want me to watch the full interview? All 1:04:03? Actually, I did, and Oprah is truly a Renaissance woman. But how about those nerds from Stanford posing convoluted, multi-prong questions that stumped her (global warming and logical vs. emotional decision-making)! Who are they trying to impress? Although Oprah claims to be more of a conversationalist and less of a writer, most of the really juicy insights came in her canned 3-minute closing.

So, what did Oprah have to say for an hour about career, life, and leadership? Mainly, that everyone has a Supreme destiny or calling (not necessarily your job) and that we will eventually find that destiny/calling if we remain open to it and listen to our heart. Her calling is to help people find their calling by increasing their self-awareness.

Oprah talks a lot about consciousness and being grounded, about an inner voice and being centered. And, of course, spirituality. When Oprah interviews senior executives for a job with her company, they are often flummoxed when she asks them about their spirituality.

Oprah feels strongly that her external accomplishments are fueled by her internal peace – you can’t help others until you first take care of yourself. Every person’s objective should be to become the highest/truest expression of themselves as a human being. (I have read that formulation more than once before – e.g., “the best version of yourself.”)

Oprah uses the term, “life coach,” and I think that is a good description of her.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

